All Twitter users can now delete a particular subscriber without blocking him. As of today, this option is available to all users of the social network. To "quietly" prohibit someone from seeing your tweets in your feed, go to the "Subscribers" tab in your profile, click on the three-dot menu next to the user and select the "Delete this subscriber" option.
This is part of Twitter's efforts to reduce harassment on the platform. Implicitly blocking someone can lead to retaliation from that person through their allies or alternate accounts. But if you simply unsubscribe a character, they may simply not notice your absence from their feed.
Of course, this won't prevent such characters from seeing your public tweets via other people's retweets. You can protect yourself completely either by blocking them, or by unsubscribing with a new method and making your account private. In fact, Twitter reduced into one action what previously could be done in two ways - by blocking and immediately unblocking an annoying opponent.
However, Twitter is reportedly testing a security mode that automatically blocks accounts that use "potentially dangerous language." The social network is also considering expanding ways to filter and limit responses, so it looks like the company is making a serious bet on user comfort.
Illustration: Free-Photos from Pixabay