Apple releases macOS Monterey today: which devices are compatible and when the update will be released

By: Yuriy Stanislavskiy | 25.10.2021, 14:46
Apple releases macOS Monterey today: which devices are compatible and when the update will be released

The official public release of macOS Monterey will take place today, October 25, just one week after the "Unleashed" media event where the new Apple processors and notebooks based on them were unveiled.

While Apple traditionally doesn't announce an exact release time for macOS Monterey, it's traditionally the same year after year, so you can make pretty educated guesses.

Of course, there's no guarantee that Apple will stick to its usual macOS Monterey release date, but we're factoring in the usual 10:00 a.m. Pacific time.

Here's when to expect the update in other time zones in the US and around the world: 

  • Honolulu, Hawaii -- 7:00 HST
  • Anchorage, Alaska -- 9:00 AKDT
  • Cupertino, California -- 10:00 PDT
  • Vancouver, Canada -- 10:00 PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona -- 10:00 MST
  • Denver, Colorado -- 11:00 MDT
  • Chicago, Illinois -- 12:00 noon CDT
  • New York, New York -- 13:00 EDT
  • Toronto, Canada -- 13:00 EDT
  • Halifax, Canada -- 14:00 ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil -- 14:00 BRT
  • London, United Kingdom -- 18:00 BST
  • Berlin, Germany -- 19:00 CEST
  • Paris, France -- 19:00 CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa -- 19:00 SAST
  • Helsinki, Finland -- 20:00 EEST
  • Kyiv, Ukraine -- 20:00 EEST (UTC+3)
  • Istanbul, Turkey -- 20:00 TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates -- 21:00 GST
  • Delhi, India -- 22:30 IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia -- 0:00 WIB midnight next day
  • Shanghai, China -- 1:00 CST next day
  • Singapore -- 1:00 SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia -- 1:00 AWST next day
  • Hong Kong -- 1:00 HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea -- 2:00 KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan -- 2:00 JST next day
  • Brisbane, Australia -- 3:00 AEST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia -- 3:30 ACDT next day
  • Sydney, Australia -- 4:00 AEDT next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand -- 6:00 NZDT next day

Which devices you can install macOS Monterey:
  • Early 2016 MacBook and newer
  • Early 2015 MacBook Air and newer
  • Early 2015 MacBook Pro and newer
  • Late 2015 iMac and newer
  • 2017 iMac Pro and newer
  • Late 2014 Mac mini and newer
  • Late 2013 Mac Pro and newer

Recall that gg editorial staff has previously writtenwhat new features the new OS boasts with

Source: macrumors